As you can see, it’s been a few since my exuberant first post in which I promised to write daily a few times each week. Why’s that, you ask?

1. I’m a procrastinator. Majorly.

2. I’ve been (sort of) busy getting ready to leave on my abroad adventure. I leave in 4 days!! FOUR.

3. I got scared.

Scared? Yes. Terrified actually. I had so many ideas swirling around in my head for different posts that I got so worked up over putting together the most perfectly interesting humorous heart-wrenching post you have ever read on the internet ever that I didn’t even try. Does this ever happen to you? It happens to me quite a lot.

But finally I am coming to terms with the fact that in 4 days (did I mention I leave in FOUR days??) that this blog will need some tender loving care and I still don’t fully know my way around WordPress. I mean, the header picture to this blog is still that picture of a grandly opulent hallway and I don’t know how to change it.

So on a whim, tonight I decided that I just needed to write. Lesson #1: to learn your way around WordPress/to become a better writer/to put together the most perfectly interesting humorous heart-wrenching post ever read on the internet ever, you have to write. You have to put your words out there with confidence. So that is what I am doing.

First lesson done. Now on to the second lesson, one that I learned on a road trip with my friends to Canada.

Canada, eh? Yes, Canada. Armed with our passports and hiking shoes, four of my friends and I crossed the border into our northern neighbor to check out Thunder Bay and all it has to offer. One of our days in Thunder Bay was spent hiking in Sleeping Giant Provincial Park.

We drove into Sleeping Giant in the early morning, anticipating a nice leisurely hike in Ontario’s great wilderness.

WRONG. We were so wrong.

Armed with the only available and also terrible map from the beginning of the trail and, unbeknownst to us, wrong directions from park rangers (thanks guys…), we set off on what ended up to be a 15 mile, 7.5 hour hike. We were looking for this (which turned out to be a scant 40 minute round-trip hike from the parking lot), but found this instead:

Not bad, eh? As frustrated and tired as we were, we couldn’t help but feel proud of ourselves for hiking all that way and happening upon a beautiful view of good ol’ Lake Superior.

So Lesson #2: though you may not find what you are looking for, what you stumble upon may be even better.

-Katie

